Years of prison sentences for No Surrender leaders on appeal again

Years of prison sentences for No Surrender leaders on appeal again

The court in Leeuwarden sentenced former No Surrender leader Henk Kuipers (57) to 8.5 years in prison on Monday. Founder Klaas Otto (54) receives three years in prison from the court, as does Rico R. (45). The three leaders of the banned motorcycle club have been convicted again on appeal for leading a criminal organization, extortion and theft with violence or fraud.

A fourth former No Surrender member, Ayhan B. (54), is sentenced to 30 months in prison, 20 of which are suspended. He was a security guard for Henk Kuipers at the motorcycle club. A fifth suspect, 64-year-old Fred W., (not a member of the motorcycle club) was sentenced to 22 months in prison, 15 of which were suspended. He enlisted Kuipers’ help in extorting business relations.

All the facts took place from 2014 to 2017.

At the end of 2020, Henk Kuipers, Klaas Otto and two other former leaders of No Surrender were sentenced by the court in Groningen to years in prison for leading a criminal organization. Kuipers received the highest sentence with ten years in prison because his share was the largest.

Henk Kuipers, Klaas Otto and Rico R. appealed against their sentences. In March 2022, the Public Prosecution Service demanded twelve, two and a half and four years in prison against Kuipers, Otto and R.

After the conviction by the court at the end of 2020, the legal arrangement for conditional release has been changed. The court took this into account when imposing the sentence. This means that in the case in which the court imposed a 10-year prison sentence on Henk Kuipers, the appeal court imposed an 8.5-year prison term. This is ‘net’ approximately equal to the prison sentence imposed by the court, according to the court.

Found this interesting? Then check our main news page where you can find all articles related to Crypto, Crime, Darknet, Security and much more!